Queen’s Gambit Accepted, Chess

I don’t know as much about the QGA (Queen’s Gambit Accepted) as QGD (Queen’s Gambit Declined) but I know a little.  The QGA goes along the lines of  1 d4…d5  2 c4…dxc4  3 Nf3 (e4 is also an option as it attacks the pawn on c4 with the bishop on f1.)  If e4, then 3… Nf6.  I don’t know if this is the correct thing to do in this situation or not but I do know that you would end up exchanging pawns, and the black one on c4 ( taken with the Bishop on f1) and the white one on e4 (taken with the Knight on f6.)  Nunn’s Chess Openings is a book to explore if you are interested in different openings.  I researched the King’s Gambit in it because I needed to defend against e4 (this was before I knew about the Scandinavian Defense and honestly I felt like I had found a city of gold when I heard about it.  The perfect defense for e4 that opened on the Queenside!)  Many of the King’s Gambit Declined I didn’t like because it seemed slow and boring.  The KGA (King’s Gambit Accepted) is just as bad, if not worse, because if you don’t capture when you can, it seems, you will almost automatically fall behind in material.

Leave a comment