Archive for February 3, 2011

Scandinavian Defense, Chess

Posted in Chess with tags , , , , , , , , , , , on February 3, 2011 by legoemperor

I have been involved in chess for a good while now and I have learned the Queen’s Gambit Accepted (QGA) and Queen’s Gambit Declined (QGD).  Then I found myself as black (white always goes first) and white had gone with e4 preparing for the King’s Gambit.  Having practiced opening  on the Queenside (with 1 d4…d5  2 c4…dxc4) and not the Kingside, I needed a different reply than e5 which opens on the Kingside.  Luckily there was an opening with 1 e4…d5.  This defense is called the Scandinavian Defense or the Center Counter Defense.  After 1 e4…d5 comes 2 exd5… Qxd5 or Nf6.  All of this d4…d5 exd5 stuff is called Algebraic Notation.  Hopefully the link will help any beginners viewing my site.  After Qxd5 comes Nc3.  This is typical because it attacks the queen and gains a tempo, hence white has a slight advantage.

Some of my favorite chess books include: How To Beat Your Dad at Chess and the sequel, Chess Tactics for Kids.  Nunn’s Chess Openings by John Nunn is a book that has a lot of complicated Algebraic Notation and is not for beginners.  But if you can manage to comprehend it it becomes a wonderful book.

Also I want to acknowledge Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess.  The book helped me see different ways of checkmate.  Even though it is only a book of puzzles, it’s diagrams help me see different positions and visualize different defenses to different positions.